SCA Chinese Heritage Club General Membership Board of Directors Election Meeting Saturday, December 5, 2009 Sun City Anthem – Freedom Hall <u>Meeting Minutes</u>

Call to Order

Interim board President Biao Chang called the meeting to order at approximately 12:30 PM. He welcomed those in attendance and introduced the Interim Board of Directors: Biao Chang, Susan Chang (absent), Morgan Shen, Diana Shen, Pearl Wong, Lizwu Wu and Kitty Zee, and CHC Legal consultant Mr. Louis Tao. There were 110 members present.

Status Update on 2010 Room Requests submitted to SCA Life Style Committee

Biao Chang gave status of CHC room requests.

• Room Requests granted:

\circ	Monthly Board Meeti	ngs 3 rd Tuesday 9:00AM – 12:00PM (Penn Room)
\circ	Widiting Dould Micch	1123 3 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	I CILLINOULLI

o Monthly Membership Meetings 2nd Monday 1:00PM – 4:30PM (Nelson Room)

4th Monday 11:00AM – 4:30PM (Nelson Room)

o Spring Festival Special Event in March 2010 (Grand Ballroom)

Longevitology practice group
 Every Thursday 7:00PM to 9:00PM

- Room Requests that were tabled and to be discussed in March 2010 in one of the LSC meetings:
 - Wellness Group Meeting/Practice
 - Health Enhancement Study Group
 - Chi For Health Study Group
 - o Group Dance
 - Traditional Chinese Dance Practice

CHC By-Laws Ratification

Biao Chang reported that the copies of CHC's Application and By-Law had been transmitted by email to its members a few days ago, and there were copies of them in the back of the room for those who did not get them. The motion to ratify the By-Laws was made by Wu-tsuan Wong and seconded by Chris Wu. By showing of hands, CHC's By-Law was ratified and approved unanimously by its members present.

General Election

Biao Chang reported that Mrs. Virginia Fennigan of LSC informed him that SCA Election Guideline indicates that officers of the Club must be elected by the membership. However, the write-up in the Charter Club Guideline can be interpreted two different ways. Biao Chang suggested that giving these two options to the members presented to decide the election process.

Motion was made by Shannon Shen and seconded by Chris Wu for members to vote on the options.

The CHC By-Laws calls for 7 board members. The 7 positions are President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and 3 Directors.

- Option one: 7 board members, including President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer, will be elected by the floor. Among the 7 board members, 4 club officers will be recommended within and, ratification of the officers will be done at the later time. President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer MUST be among the elected 7 board members.
- Option two: 7 board members will be elected by the floor. Then each officer position, including President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer, will be elected individually from the 7 board members from the floor.

By showing of hands, Option one was passes by majority votes.

Biao Chang introduced the Nomination Committee (NC) members: Dorothy Yu (NC Chair), Shannon Shen, and Thomas Cheng. On behalf of the Nomination Committee, Dorothy Yu explained the process used by the NC to come up with 7 candidates. Dorothy Yu reported that 40 persons were nominated. However, after telephone discussion with each of the nominees, most of them declined due to personal reasons. A slate of seven candidates was finally submitted to the Interim Board for election. Dorothy Yu also introduced the established nomination criteria before the nominating process began. The Criteria are (read by Lizwu Wu):

- a. Demonstrate leadership capability
- b. Commitment to undivided loyalty to CHC
- c. Did not engage or was not involved in opposition to CHC's Charter Application
- d. Willingness to perform CHC's duties and tasks
- e. Availability to attend CHC's meetings and to assist in CHC's functions

Floor nomination was then opened. Charlie Wong nominated Theirrien Clark. It was seconded by Dan Tsiang. Chang Biao restated the nomination criteria for candidates. Since Theirrien Clark will be an officer of another club in 2010, Theirrien Clark withdrew himself as a candidate.

Biao Chang then introduced the seven (7) candidates: Celia Chang, Jean Chen, Tom Sulistio (absent), Carin Sung, Ta-Tung Meng, Jerry Wang (absent) and Lizwu Wu. Each candidate gave a short speech. Dan Tsiang spoke on behalf of Tom Sulistio. Biao Chang spoke on behalf of Jerry Wang. Motion was made by Wu-Tsuan Wong that the nomination be closed and it was seconded by Chris Wu. All 7 candidates were elected as CHC board for 2010, unanimously by show of hands.

Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 1:30PM